Nigerian House of Representatives Advances Bill to Create Orlu State

The House of Representatives has moved forward with a bill to establish a new state in southeastern Nigeria.
On Thursday, lawmakers passed the bill for the creation of Orlu State through its first reading.
The proposed legislation, introduced by Hon. Ikeagwuonu Ugochinyere of Ideato North South Federal Constituency, Imo State, along with other co-sponsors, is set for a second reading. The bill aims to amend the 1999 Constitution to increase the number of states from 36 to 37.
Orlu State, with Orlu as its capital, would be carved out from parts of Imo, Abia, and Anambra states. The bill proposes the inclusion of 28 local government areas, such as Orlu, Orsu, Oru West, Oru East, Ideato North, Ideato South, and Njaba, among others.
Hon. Ugochinyere urged his colleagues to support the bill, highlighting that the creation of Orlu State would lead to the formation of Ideato as a new senatorial district. He also noted the imbalance in the geopolitical distribution of states, as the southeast currently has only five states, while other zones have at least six.
Kindly share this story:
Kindly share this story:
Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram
Share on facebook
Top News

Related Articles