Tinubu Approves Implementation of Oronsaye Report, Overhauls Federal Agencies

President Bola Tinubu has endorsed the relocation and consolidation of several Ministries, Departments, and Agencies (MDAs) of the federal government, following the adoption of the Stanley Oronsaye report. 
The decision emerged after Monday’s Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting presided over by President Tinubu.
The Oronsaye report recommended discontinuing government financing of professional bodies and councils to redirect funds toward capital projects.
It identified 541 Federal Government parastatals, commissions, and agencies and proposed reducing 263 statutory agencies to 161, abolishing 38 agencies, and merging 52 others.
Additionally, the panel recommended reverting 14 agencies to departments within ministries to streamline government operations.
Below are government agencies set to be subsumed and relocated.
1. Service Compact with all Nigerians (SERVICOM) to be subsumed as a department under the Bureau for Public Service Reforms (BPSR).
2. Border Communities Development Agency (BCDA) to be subsumed to function as a department under the National Boundary Commission (NBC).
3. National Salaries, Income and Wages Commissioned (NSIWC) to be subsumed into the Revenue Mobilization & Fiscal Allocation Commission (RMAFC).
4. Institute for Peace and Conflict Resolution to be subsumed under the Nigerian Institute of International Affairs (NIIA)
5. Public Complaints Commission (PCC) to be subsumed under the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC).
6. Nigerian Institute for Trypanosomiasis (NITR) will be subsumed into the Institute of Veterinary Research (VOM).
7. Nigerian Natural Medicine Development Agency (NNMDA) to be subsumed under the National Institute of Pharmaceutical Research and Development
8. National Intelligence Agency Pension Commission will be subsumed under the administration of the Nigerian Pension Commission (PenCom).
9. The Nigerian Film and Video Censors Board (NFVCB) will be subsumed as a Department in the Ministry of Arts, Culture and Creative Economy.
1. Niger Delta Powerholding Company (NDHC) to be relocated to the Ministry of Power.
2. National Agricultural Land Development Agency [NALDA] will be relocated to the Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security.
3. National Blood Service Commission to be converted into an Agency and relocated to the Federal Ministry of Health.
4. Nigerians in Diaspora Commission (NIDCOM) to be converted into an Agency and transferred to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
Kindly share this story:
Kindly share this story:
Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram
Share on facebook
Top News

Related Articles