Sports|Top Story

Qatar to Host Next Five Editions of Boys’ Under-17 World Cup as Morocco Host Girls’ Tournament

FIFA has announced on Thursday that Qatar will host the next five editions of the boys’ Under-17 World Cup from 2025 to 2029, while the girls’ tournament is set to be played in Morocco.
World football’s governing body in December, had revealed plans to hold both youth tournaments annually starting next year. The boys’ event will expand from 24 to 48 teams, while the number of girls’ teams involved will increase from 16 to 24.
FIFA explained that the decision to choose a single host nation for multiple editions aimed to leverage existing footballing infrastructure to ensure tournament efficiencies and sustainability.
Qatar, known for hosting the 2022 men’s World Cup and this year’s Asian Cup, will continue its involvement in global football events.
Morocco, meanwhile, is set to co-host the 2030 World Cup alongside Spain and Portugal, with three matches scheduled to be played in South America to commemorate the tournament’s centenary.
Both Qatar and Morocco have previously hosted the Club World Cup on multiple occasions.
Additionally, Morocco is slated to stage the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations, further solidifying its status as a key host for international football competitions.
The decision to expand the Under-17 World Cup aligns with FIFA’s broader trend of tournament expansion, exemplified by the upcoming men’s 2026 World Cup, which will feature 48 teams for the first time.
Similarly, last year’s Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand saw the field grow from 24 to 32 countries.
Kindly share this story:
Kindly share this story:
Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram
Share on facebook
Top News

Related Articles