Lagos Assembly Rejects 3 Cabinet Nominees, Confirms Omotoso, Abayomi And 13 Others

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu
The second batch of 18 commissioner nominees sent in by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu received 15 confirmation yesterday from the Lagos State House of Assembly.
However, the nomination of Engr. Olalere Odusote, in the Ministry of Energy, and his  colleague Sam Egube, a former commissioner for Economic Planning and Budget, was again rejected by the House.
The duo, who were among the 17 nominees who were initially turned down on August 23, failed to clear the bar again. The House also “stepped down” on Tolani Sule Akibu’s confirmation as a new nominee.
The House, however, confirmed 15 cabinet nominees, among whom was the former Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Gbenga Omotoso and Prof Akin Abayomi (Health). Omotoso and Abayomi were among the 12 nominees re-nominated by the governor after they were initially denied confirmation.
The confirmation, yesterday, took place after Hon. Mojeed Fatai, Chief Whip and chairman of the screening committee, laid a report of the exercise before the House.
The Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa, who presided over the meeting, commended the committee for ‘doing a thorough job’. His position was supported by the lawmakers present at plenary.
Other nominees confirmed are Dr. Afolabi Tajudeen, Mr. Oluwaseun Osiyemi, Dr. Oluwarotimi Fashola, Mrs. Folashade Ambrose-Medem, Mr. Akinyemi Ajigbotafe and Mrs. Bolaji Dada
Others are Mrs. Barakat Bakare, Mr. Mosopefolu George, Mr Yekini Agbaje, Dr. Olumide Oluyinka, Mr. Abayomi Oluyomi, Dr. Iyabode Ayoola and Hon. Sola.
Kindly share this story:
Kindly share this story:
Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram
Share on facebook
Top News

Related Articles