Finalists Revealed For CAF 2023 Awards: Osimhen, Oshoala, Nnadozie, And Abiodun In The Running


Nigeria’s Victor Osimhen, Asisat Oshoala, Chiamaka Nnadozie, and Deborah Abiodun have secured spots on the final shortlist for the upcoming 2023 CAF Awards, as confirmed by the African football governing body.
In the Men’s Player of the Year category, Victor Osimhen, who plays for Napoli in the Italian Serie A, faces stiff competition from Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah and PSG’s Achraf Hakimi. Osimhen, having claimed the highest goalscorer accolade in the Italian Serie A and played a pivotal role in Napoli’s Scudetto triumph, stands as a strong contender for the prestigious award.
As for the Women’s Player of the Year, Asisat Oshoala, a Barcelona Femeni star, aims for her fifth CAF Women’s Player of the Year title. Her remarkable contributions to Barcelona’s treble-winning season and Nigeria’s progress to the last 16 in the FIFA Women’s World Cup make her a standout candidate. She faces competition from Thembi Kgatlana (Racing Louisville, South Africa) and Barbara Banda (Zambia).
Chiamaka Nnadozie, the Super Falcons goalkeeper from Paris FC, contends for the Goalkeeper of the Year (Women) against Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco) and Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns).
In the Young Player of the Year (Women) category, Deborah Abiodun, a midfielder for the Pittsburgh Panthers, is recognized for her standout performances, including representing Nigeria at the 2023 FIFA U-20 World Cup.
Additionally, the Super Falcons are in contention for the Women’s Team of The Year award. The winners will be revealed at the CAF Awards ceremony in Morocco next Monday.
Ada Peter
Kindly share this story:
Kindly share this story:
Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram
Top News

Related Articles