Appeal Court Decision Alters Plateau Assembly Dynamics, Sacks 11 PDP Lawmakers

In a significant legal development, the Court of Appeal in Abuja, on Friday, ousted eleven lawmakers affiliated with the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) from the Plateau state assembly, leading to a shift in the party balance.
Justice Okon Abang, heading the panel, delivered a unanimous verdict, asserting that the disqualified lawmakers received wasted votes during the March 2023 general election due to the absence of a structured party framework.
 The court contended that the PDP’s actions contravened section 177 of the 1999 constitution, rendering them ineligible to field candidates in elections.
Consequently, the court declared the second runners-up in the March 18 elections as the rightful winners.
Those sacked are; Hon Timothy Dantong (Riyom), Hon. Rimyat Nanbol,- (Langtang North Central), Moses Sule (Mikang), Salome Waklek,-Pankshin, Hon. Bala Fwangji (Mangu South), Hon. Maren Ishaku (Bokkos), Hon. Dagogot (Quaanpan North) and Nannim Langyi,-(Langtang North North).
Others are Nimchak Rims (Langtang South) Hon. Danjuma Azi (Jos North West) Gwottson Fom (Jos South) and Hon. Abubakar Sani Idris (Mangu North)
With this legal development, the All Progressives Congress (APC) has assumed a dominant position in the state’s legislative assembly.
Kindly share this story:
Kindly share this story:
Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram
Share on facebook
Top News

Related Articles